Sacramento, CA, California
Smoking tolerance level [1= very illegal 5=virtually legal]: 4.5
Legislation: Proposition 215 in California since July 19, 2002, also known as the Compassionate Use Act of 1995, legalizes medical Marijuana use: “The possession and cultivation of marijuana is no more criminal — so long as (the law’s) conditions are satisfied — than the possession and acquisition of any prescription drug with a physician’s prescription.” CA Chief Justice Ronald George.
Possession of 28.5 grams or less of marijuana is not an arrestable offense. As long as the offender can provide sufficient identification and promises to appear in court, the officer will not arrest the offender. Upon conviction of the misdemeanor charge the offender is subject to a fine of $100. Possession of greater than 28.5 grams is punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $500.
Law Enforcement: The police are pretty lenient for small amounts of pot. It just depends on how you present yourself when you are caught. If you are young and smoking with a friend, you’re likely be let off with a warning. Any attitude will likely result in a night in jail. Be aware that the parks are heavily patrolled at night and odds are VERY likely to encounter police if you smoke in the park. Smoke indoors and you will have no problems whatsoever.
Where to Buy Marijuana in Sacramento: Pot flows through Sacramento like water. There are good dealers in every part of town. Get hooked up with one and you will be set. Stay away from buying off the street, you have no idea what you will be getting. Sometimes people will offer it up in exchange for gasoline or a ride, there is so much weed here.
Sacramento Marijuana Prices: Gram $10-20
1/2 eight $25
2 gram $30
Brands: Everything you could want is here at some point.
General Calfornia Information:
Legislation: In California since 1996’s Prop 215 anyone “recommended” (not prescribed—doctors nationwide can’t prescribe cannabis but they can under freedom of speech laws recommend it informally for your condition/illness) marijuana has been able to use it in their home legally now in quantities “Under the [statewide] guidelines, qualified patients and/or their primary caregivers may possess no more than eight ounces of dried marijuana and/or six mature (or 12 immature) marijuana plants. However, S.B. 420 allows patients to possess larger amounts of marijuana when such quantities are recommended by a physician. The legislation also allows counties and municipalities to approve and/or maintain local ordinances permitting patients to possess larger quantities of medicinal pot than allowed under the new state guidelines. [For detailed information on county or municipal medical marijuana guidelines [whether your area allows greater than 8 ounces to be possessed, etc.], please visit: http://www.safeaccessnow.net/countyguidelines.htm Oakland, for example, allows more than most counties]”
Thus if you are recommended cannabis you can visit the cannabis dispensaries (pharmacies supplying only medical marijuana to patients displaying proof of recommendation and residence in California) but some counties have banned the dispensaries in their area. Nonetheless there are many dispensaries in LA (over 100) and some in Northern California especially towards the coast. Or you can grow the applicable amount you want legally. If a police officer discovers you are in possession of cannabis showing them an ID card from your county will make them leave you alone faster (optional, costs over $100 a year). Under state law your marijuana use will be 100% legal in your home. Federal laws against medical marijuana don’t change the way California (or any other) state police officers and courts treat medical marijuana—only state laws do. California state law protects all doctor-recommended medical marijuana users as long as they don’t go over the quantity limits and don’t sell their cannabis to anyone. Thus medical marijuana is quite legal in California and many have gotten legal protection for their medical use for a wide variety of conditions not yet allowed in the other 11 medical marijuana states: e.g., Migraine, Arthritis, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), PMS, Severe Anxiety and many other conditions where marijuana is useful and effective.
source: CANORML.org and NORML.com [California and National Organization for Reform of Marijuana Laws] and MPP.org [Marijuana Policy Project]
Law enforcement: Medical marijuana users with doctor recommendations are fully legally protected in California for amounts up to at least 8 ounces and/or 6 mature (or 12 immature) plants in their home (certain counties listed here http://www.safeaccessnow.net/countyguidelines.htm allow more and certain conditions allow larger quantities sometimes). State police officers must not arrest you if you can show an identification card ($100 or so per year) or show your doctor-written proof of recommendation paper. As long as you keep within the legal quantity. 99% of marijuana arrests in the USA are done by state police officers according to MPP.org so as long as your medical marijuana use is legal in California you will not to have any problems as long as you follow state rules.
Where to buy marijuana: Medical users can buy at a dispensary (over 150 in the state, mostly in LA and the SF Bay area on the coast) with full legal protection to the quantities they are allowed. Also if an authorized medical user buys off the street they cannot be arrested for doing so as long as they can display a medical marijuana identification card ($100 or so a year) or show their written doctor’s proof of recommendation. Or they could grow their own to the amounts allowed.
More information: California is a pioneering medical marijuana state; the first “effective” American medical marijuana state since 1996 and the one that allows use for the most conditions (marijuana has shown anecdotal and scientifically proven results for many conditions, more than the 4 or 5 conditions (cancer/nasuea/chemotherapy side effects, HIV/AIDS, chronic pain, glaucoma, or MS or anorexia that the other 11 states have legalized use when recommended (though Maryland has the least protection according to MPP.org)) Plus California has decriminalized other marijuana use to a $100 fine for under an ounce possession and fines for paraphrenalia; no jail time and some cities have set marijuana use in general as the lowest law enforcement priority thus ignoring small time possession much more often.