Downey, CA, California

Smoking tolerance level [1= very illegal 5=virtually legal]: 3

Legislation: Anything under an ounce is punishable by a ticket, court appearance and confiscation of your bud (D’oh!). Over an ounce and you’ll be doing a few months in the pokie.

Law enforcement: In the city of Downey, I have had good experiences with the cops. Me and my buddies got caught one time hot boxing our car parked outside on the street. I mean there were four of us packed in the car and we were so blitzed we didn’t see the cop pull up behind us. He came up and opened the rear driver’s side door. We all got out, him and his partner cuffed us, checked us through the system for warrants. When we came back clean, they uncuffed us, handed us back the pipe and told us to break it and left before we even did. Well of course we didn’t. Cops around here are alright as long as your a local and not doing anything too extreme.

Where to buy marijuana in Downey, CA: On almost every street corner there’s someone with a little marijuana to spare. Cannabis Clubs for medical users are popping up all around too, in Compton, Whittier, Long Beach. Have a friend with a license and have unlimited supply of all the best.

Downey CA marijuana prices: 1 gram for $20. 2 for $30 (This is a great deal when you’re on a budget.) 1/8 for $45/$50. $90 for a quad.

For Kush 1 gram for $30 1/8 for $70 The kush ain’t cheap, but well worth it.

Brands: Regular street Chronic and the Kush. Then when you go to the pharmacy there is a potpourri of buds to choose from.

General Calfornia Information:

Legislation: In California since 1996’s Prop 215 anyone “recommended” (not prescribed—doctors nationwide can’t prescribe cannabis but they can under freedom of speech laws recommend it informally for your condition/illness) marijuana has been able to use it in their home legally now in quantities “Under the [statewide] guidelines, qualified patients and/or their primary caregivers may possess no more than eight ounces of dried marijuana and/or six mature (or 12 immature) marijuana plants. However, S.B. 420 allows patients to possess larger amounts of marijuana when such quantities are recommended by a physician. The legislation also allows counties and municipalities to approve and/or maintain local ordinances permitting patients to possess larger quantities of medicinal pot than allowed under the new state guidelines. [For detailed information on county or municipal medical marijuana guidelines [whether your area allows greater than 8 ounces to be possessed, etc.], please visit: Oakland, for example, allows more than most counties]”

Thus if you are recommended cannabis you can visit the cannabis dispensaries (pharmacies supplying only medical marijuana to patients displaying proof of recommendation and residence in California) but some counties have banned the dispensaries in their area. Nonetheless there are many dispensaries in LA (over 100) and some in Northern California especially towards the coast. Or you can grow the applicable amount you want legally. If a police officer discovers you are in possession of cannabis showing them an ID card from your county will make them leave you alone faster (optional, costs over $100 a year). Under state law your marijuana use will be 100% legal in your home. Federal laws against medical marijuana don’t change the way California (or any other) state police officers and courts treat medical marijuana—only state laws do. California state law protects all doctor-recommended medical marijuana users as long as they don’t go over the quantity limits and don’t sell their cannabis to anyone. Thus medical marijuana is quite legal in California and many have gotten legal protection for their medical use for a wide variety of conditions not yet allowed in the other 11 medical marijuana states: e.g., Migraine, Arthritis, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), PMS, Severe Anxiety and many other conditions where marijuana is useful and effective.

Law enforcement: Medical marijuana users with doctor recommendations are fully legally protected in California for amounts up to at least 8 ounces and/or 6 mature (or 12 immature) plants in their home (certain counties listed here allow more and certain conditions allow larger quantities sometimes). State police officers must not arrest you if you can show an identification card ($100 or so per year) or show your doctor-written proof of recommendation paper. As long as you keep within the legal quantity. 99% of marijuana arrests in the USA are done by state police officers according to so as long as your medical marijuana use is legal in California you will not to have any problems as long as you follow state rules.

Where to buy marijuana: Medical users can buy at a dispensary (over 150 in the state, mostly in LA and the SF Bay area on the coast) with full legal protection to the quantities they are allowed. Also if an authorized medical user buys off the street they cannot be arrested for doing so as long as they can display a medical marijuana identification card ($100 or so a year) or show their written doctor’s proof of recommendation. Or they could grow their own to the amounts allowed.

More information: California is a pioneering medical marijuana state; the first “effective” American medical marijuana state since 1996 and the one that allows use for the most conditions (marijuana has shown anecdotal and scientifically proven results for many conditions, more than the 4 or 5 conditions (cancer/nasuea/chemotherapy side effects, HIV/AIDS, chronic pain, glaucoma, or MS or anorexia that the other 11 states have legalized use when recommended (though Maryland has the least protection according to Plus California has decriminalized other marijuana use to a $100 fine for under an ounce possession and fines for paraphrenalia; no jail time and some cities have set marijuana use in general as the lowest law enforcement priority thus ignoring small time possession much more often.