Smoking tolerance level [1= very illegal 5=virtually legal]: 4.9

Legislation: Ukiah is the county seat and largest city in Mendocino County, California, which is one of the three counties in the Emerald Triangle, the largest marijuana producing region in the United States. In 2000, Mendocino County approved de-facto legalization for marijuana cultivation and possession for personal use. Entitled the “Personal Use of Marijuana Initiative”, Measure G

* Instructs the county government to support all efforts toward the decriminalization of marijuana;

* Directs law enforcement not to arrest or prosecute individuals for personal use marijuana violations involving possession, transportation or cultivation of 25 plants or fewer;

* Provides for the continued enforcement of marijuana laws against those who cultivate, transport and possess marijuana for sale.

Law enforcement: Both the sheriff and district attorney have voiced support for marijuana decriminalization. Through its budgetary authority, the Mendocino County Board of Supervisors seek to ensure that the Sheriff’s Office and the District Attorney give lowest priority to the enforcement and prosecution of marijuana laws.

However most of the law enforcement don’t go after you for bud if you have fewer than 25 plants (or the amount equal to 25 plants) intended for personal use. Depending on the cop, they will let you keep your pot even if they find you with it (as long as you don’t look like you are going to sell). Still, it is always best to hide your weed just in case the cop isn’t sympathetic to herb.

The sheriff is in support of cannabis decriminalization so the law enforcement tend to be very chill when it comes to weed. You can smoke out in the open at parks, but don’t be so open about it. Some cops are different and its best to hide your joint, pipe, and weed if you suspect a cop around. Hot-boxing is okay too as long as you spray your car or truck after you smoke.

Where to buy marijuana: Ukiah, as well as all of Ukiah Valley (Capella, Talmage, Redwood Valley, ect.) are pretty chill toward cannabis. Try asking some of the younger crowd or any hippy-looking dude in the area. They will most likely steer you in the right direction. Try to refrain from asking an older looking person as some are from the last generation that somewhat disdains weed. As a whole though, most people won’t jump on you and will be polite if you ask for chronic.

Todd Grove Park is also a good place to look for pot smokers for dealing.

Marijuana prices: Pretty much the same as the rest of California. Because pot is so widely available here, you don’t really have to worry about getting ripped off (though not unheard of). Prices below;

Nickel Bag or 5 Bowl: $5

Dime Bag or 10 Sac: $10

Dub Bag or 20 Sac: $20

Marijuana brands: Ukiah as well as all of Mendocino County has some of the best weed in the world! White Widow, Trainwreck, Kush, you name it and you can find it (though some strains are easier to find than others).

More information: Ukiah is a really great place to smoke chronic. With one of the best cannabis laws in the US as well as some of the highest quality strains, you usually can never go wrong. Just don’t take too much advantage of the Ukiah Valley area. Don’t act a fool and don’t expose your weed. If you do this there is nothing to worry about.

General Calfornia Information:

Legislation: In California since 1996’s Prop 215 anyone “recommended” (not prescribed—doctors nationwide can’t prescribe cannabis but they can under freedom of speech laws recommend it informally for your condition/illness) marijuana has been able to use it in their home legally now in quantities “Under the [statewide] guidelines, qualified patients and/or their primary caregivers may possess no more than eight ounces of dried marijuana and/or six mature (or 12 immature) marijuana plants. However, S.B. 420 allows patients to possess larger amounts of marijuana when such quantities are recommended by a physician. The legislation also allows counties and municipalities to approve and/or maintain local ordinances permitting patients to possess larger quantities of medicinal pot than allowed under the new state guidelines. [For detailed information on county or municipal medical marijuana guidelines [whether your area allows greater than 8 ounces to be possessed, etc.], please visit: http://www.safeaccessnow.net/countyguidelines.htm Oakland, for example, allows more than most counties]”

Thus if you are recommended cannabis you can visit the cannabis dispensaries (pharmacies supplying only medical marijuana to patients displaying proof of recommendation and residence in California) but some counties have banned the dispensaries in their area. Nonetheless there are many dispensaries in LA (over 100) and some in Northern California especially towards the coast. Or you can grow the applicable amount you want legally. If a police officer discovers you are in possession of cannabis showing them an ID card from your county will make them leave you alone faster (optional, costs over $100 a year). Under state law your marijuana use will be 100% legal in your home. Federal laws against medical marijuana don’t change the way California (or any other) state police officers and courts treat medical marijuana—only state laws do. California state law protects all doctor-recommended medical marijuana users as long as they don’t go over the quantity limits and don’t sell their cannabis to anyone. Thus medical marijuana is quite legal in California and many have gotten legal protection for their medical use for a wide variety of conditions not yet allowed in the other 11 medical marijuana states: e.g., Migraine, Arthritis, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), PMS, Severe Anxiety and many other conditions where marijuana is useful and effective.

Law enforcement: Medical marijuana users with doctor recommendations are fully legally protected in California for amounts up to at least 8 ounces and/or 6 mature (or 12 immature) plants in their home (certain counties listed here http://www.safeaccessnow.net/countyguidelines.htm allow more and certain conditions allow larger quantities sometimes). State police officers must not arrest you if you can show an identification card ($100 or so per year) or show your doctor-written proof of recommendation paper. As long as you keep within the legal quantity. 99% of marijuana arrests in the USA are done by state police officers according to MPP.org so as long as your medical marijuana use is legal in California you will not to have any problems as long as you follow state rules.

Where to buy marijuana: Medical users can buy at a dispensary (over 150 in the state, mostly in LA and the SF Bay area on the coast) with full legal protection to the quantities they are allowed. Also if an authorized medical user buys off the street they cannot be arrested for doing so as long as they can display a medical marijuana identification card ($100 or so a year) or show their written doctor’s proof of recommendation. Or they could grow their own to the amounts allowed.

More information: California is a pioneering medical marijuana state; the first “effective” American medical marijuana state since 1996 and the one that allows use for the most conditions (marijuana has shown anecdotal and scientifically proven results for many conditions, more than the 4 or 5 conditions (cancer/nasuea/chemotherapy side effects, HIV/AIDS, chronic pain, glaucoma, or MS or anorexia that the other 11 states have legalized use when recommended (though Maryland has the least protection according to MPP.org)) Plus California has decriminalized other marijuana use to a $100 fine for under an ounce possession and fines for paraphrenalia; no jail time and some cities have set marijuana use in general as the lowest law enforcement priority thus ignoring small time possession much more often.

Your Message

Your Email (optional)