Smoking tolerance level [1= very illegal 5=virtually legal]: 3
Legislation: Possession of less than two ounces of marijuana is punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine up to $500 for the first offense. For a second offense the penalty increases to a possible two years in prison and a fine up to $2,000. There is a possibility of deferred sentencing for first offenders. For possession of two ounces or more, the penalty is up to three years in prison and a fine up to $10,000. Possession of one pound or more is punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine up to $100,000. Possession of ten pounds or more carries a penalty of up to 15 years in prison and a fine up to $500,000.
The state of Vermont has had a medical marijuana law since 2004 but only starting July 2007 has it started expanded so more than a handful of patients can participate. The new version “expands the definition of “debilitating medical condition” to include: “(A) cancer, multiple sclerosis, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus, acquired immune deficiency syndrome, or the treatment of these conditions, if the disease or the treatment results in severe, persistent, and intractable symptoms; or (B) a disease, medical condition, or its treatment that is chronic, debilitating, and produces severe, persistent, and one or more of the following intractable symptoms: cachexia or wasting syndrome; severe pain; severe nausea; or seizures.” The measure also raises the quantity of medical cannabis patients may legally possess under state law from one mature and/or two immature plants to two mature and/or seven immature plants. Senate Bill 7 also
amends state law so that licensed physicians in neighboring states [New Hampshire, Massachusetts, or New York] can legally recommend cannabis to Vermont patients.”
Law enforcement: Vermont is supposedly a zero-tolerance state, but you’ll be suprised to find that in many areas it’s not much of a concern to law enforcement officials.
Still, don’t get careless.
Where to buy marijuana: There are many smokers you might find traverseing Main Street. Unfortunately they won’t always be ready to admit it. There’s no malls to ask around at in Middlebury; no public slinging, no skate parks.
There are at least 2 main ways of buying/finding a dealer:
1. Ask around at the MUHS. A majority of juniors/seniors there are smokers and would be happy to deal. Have no fear of asking the wrong person, as marijuana is not a big deal to even the non-smokers of the school.
2. Ask the customers at a local headshop. (Who buys stuff for tobacco anymore?) Most of them are pretty lax about this and may be willing to deal.
Marijuana prices: Per gram – $10-15 Eighth – $30-50 Quarter $60-100 OZ – $200-320 Prices vary widely between Indoor/Outdoor/Import/Hydro
If a person is lucky, they might find an importer who will deal Ounces for $50-100