Smoking tolerance level [1= very illegal 5=virtually legal]: 3
Legislation: “Possession of 25 grams or less of marijuana is punishable by a fine of $100 for the first offense. For the second offense, the penalty increases to a $200 fine and for subsequent offenses the fine increases to $250 and a maximum of 15 days in jail time may be imposed. [for a third offense the website shows it as a potential misdemeanor of up to 5 days jail time and/or fine up to $250]
Possession of greater than 25 grams or possession of any amount in public where the marijuana is burning or open to public view, is a class B misdemeanor and is punishable by up to three months in jail and a fine up to $500.
For possession of greater than two ounces, the penalty increases to a possible one year in jail and a fine up to $1,000.
Possession of greater than eight ounces increases the penalties to a possible one to one and a half years in prison and a fine up to $5,000. The penalties for possession of greater than 16 ounces are one to two and a half years in prison and a fine up to $5,000. For possession of any amount greater than 10 pounds, the penalty is one to five and half years in prison and a fine up to $5,000.
Delivery or manufacture of two grams or less of marijuana for no remuneration is punishable by up to three months in jail and a fine up to $500. [NORML also mysteriously writes “2 oz or less gift: class B misdemeanor | 3 months and/or fine | $500″] For delivery or manufacture of 25 grams or less, the penalty is up to one year in jail and a fine up to $1,000. For amounts greater than 25 grams, the penalty increases to one to one and a half years in jail and a fine up to $5,000. Delivery or manufacture of greater than four ounces is punishable by one to two and a half years in prison and a fine up to $5,000. For any amount greater than 16 ounces, the penalty increases to one to five and a half years in prison and a fine up to $5,000.
Any sale or delivery to a minor is punishable by one to two and a half years in prison and a fine up to $5,000.
Possession or sale of paraphernalia is punishable by up to one year in jail or a fine up to $1,000.” [For possession at the least “must be dirty paraphernalia”]
Note: “The guide does not list penalties for every marijuana offense nor every enhanced sentence such as possessing marijuana near a school, involving a minor, and automatic driver’s or professional license suspension. Your state may require an enhanced sentence even if the enhancement is not in the guide.”
Another website said NY law uses the number 25 grams because pot used to be sold in a “lid” of up to 25 grams each. According to Wikipedia, Oregon decriminalized small time possession in 1972. Perhaps New York decriminalized first and second offenses some time after that during the 70’s as well while these lids might have been popular. On the dark side, the decades-old Rockefeller Drug Laws of NY enacted very serious penalties including life in prison and to some degree they seem to remain for offenses involving large quantities or crimes other than possession and still apply to most other substances.
Law enforcement: Some days cops here have nothing better to do. They do a twice yearly round up of all drug dealers in the area, including pot sellers.
Where to buy marijuana: Better to know someone in this town than to try from a stranger. You never know who is wired around here from getting popped recently.
Marijuana prices: 100 OZ Commersh
250-300 OZ green
Mid grade usually passed off as green, so look before you leap.
Marijuana brands: Compressed mexi is a fav around here. Quality varies greatly along with the seasons. Sometimes you get lucky and find high end commersh at reg prices.
Green is usually stinky and sticky. AK-47 is a local name. Some green is just not worth it around here….
More information: Use your head and stick to people you know and trust and you are usually left alone. If you mix with other pleasures, your risk of getting busted go way up around here.