Federal Heights, CO, Colorado
Smoking tolerance level [1= very illegal 5=virtually legal]: 4.9
The SAFER initiative passed making possesion of less than one ounce “LEGAL” in Denver.
Medical Marijuana is legal in Colorado, so that patients who possess written documentation from their physician recommending the use of marijuana and are registered with the state and issued an identification card may legally possess no more than two ounces of marijuana or no more than six marijuana plants.
Possession of one ounce or less of marijuana is a petty offense. The offender receives a summons to appear in court, and upon a promise to appear in court, the offender is to be released from detention. The maximum penalty for a violation is $100.
Possession of greater than one ounce is a misdemeanor, punishable by 6-18 months in jail and a fine of $500 – $5,000, plus a $600 surcharge.
Transfer of less than one ounce of marijuana for no consideration is considered possession and is punished as such.
This November 7th, 2006 the state votes on Amendment 44 that will allow persons 21 and over to posses up to an ounce of marijuana. This was passed in 2005 for the city of Denver.
another reporter added: “Colorado has had a medical marijuana law since June, 2001: ” Fifty-four percent of voters approved Amendment 20 on November 7, 2000, which amends the state’s constitution to recognize the medical use of marijuana. The law took effect on June 1, 2001. It removes state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess written documentation from their physician affirming that he or she suffers from a debilitating condition and advising that they “might benefit from the medical use of marijuana.” (Patients must possess this documentation prior to an arrest.) Patients diagnosed with the following illnesses are afforded legal protection under this act: cachexia; cancer; chronic pain; chronic nervous system disorders; epilepsy and other disorders characterized by seizures; glaucoma; HIV or AIDS; multiple sclerosis and other disorders characterized by muscle spasticity; and nausea. Other conditions are subject
to approval by the Colorado Board of Health. Patients (or their primary caregivers) may legally possess no more than two ounces of usable marijuana, and may cultivate no more than six marijuana plants. The law establishes a confidential state-run patient registry that issues identification cards to qualifying patients. Patients who do not join the registry or possess greater amounts of marijuana than allowed by law may argue the “affirmative defense of medical necessity” if they are arrested on marijuana charges.
Law Enforcement: Eventhough Denver passed the law allowing persons 21 or older to posses up to an ounce of marijuana for personal use, the Denver PD is still giving out tickets for minor possesion of less than an ounce. Most officers are deceant guys and willing to work with you regarding the matter.
Where to buy marijuana in Federal Heights: Only way to get the good bud in Colorado is to have a connection to a grower. There are definately plenty of them here. You can find schwag just about anywhere you go, but I’d suggest finding someone reliable to purchase homegrown. I myself haven’t smoked schwag in over 5 years.
Federal Heights Marijuana Prices: You know the grower, you get the better deal, you don’t know one, then you’ll pay the price. $300 on ounce if you know one, $400+ if you don’t.
More Info.: Colorado is quite open regarding marijuana use. Hopefully this November we’ll be able to get Amendment 44 passed and allow all the state to possess. We do have the Medical Marijuana Law, and the only state that the Medical Law says that if you use more marijuana than the 6 plants will provide, and with your doctors permission, you may grow what you use.